2013 International Hydrology Prize awarded to Professor Günther Blöschl


The 2013 International Hydrology Prize has been awarded to Professor Günther Blöschl of the Vienna University of Technology (TU Wien) in Austria in recognition of his pioneering work on linking patterns and processes in catchment hydrology and for his inspirational leadership in advancing Predictions in Ungauged Basins (PUB).

The Prize was presented by Gordon Young, President of the International Association of Hydrological Sciences (IAHS) and Bruce Stewart on behalf of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) at the IAHS plenary meeting in Gothenburg, Sweden last July 2013.

The International Hydrology Prize is awarded annually on an individual basis in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the science. Nominations for the Prize are made by the IAHS National Committees and forwarded to the IAHS Secretary General for consideration by the Nomination Committee. The Committee consists of the President and a Vice-President of IAHS and representatives of UNESCO and WMO.

From 2014 onwards, two medals will be awarded jointly with WMO and UNESCO under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge and the Volker medals. The first medal is aimed to honor outstanding scientists who have made fundamental contributions to hydrological sciences, whereas the Volker medal is aimed at outstanding contributions in applied hydrology. Volker and Dooge were pioneers of modern hydrology, both were Presidents of IAHS, and both won the International Hydrology Prize (in 1983 and 1984).

Related links: